The Fresh Produce Safety Centre today announced the members of its newly-established Technical Committee. The seven Technical Committee members are:

• Mr Joseph Ekman, Fresh Produce Group (based in NSW), Chairman of the Technical Committee, appointed from the Fresh Produce Safety Centre Board
• Dr Rosalind Deaker, University of Sydney (based in NSW)
• Mr Matthew Dolan, Horticulture New Zealand (based in Wellington, NZ)
• Mr Graham Fletcher, The New Zealand Institute for Plant & Food Research Limited (based in Auckland, NZ)
• Mr Scott Ledger, Hort VC Group (based in Queensland)
• Mr Prakash Pathak, Moraitis Group Pty Ltd (based in NSW)
• Dr Craig Shadbolt, NSW Food Authority (based in NSW).

The Technical Committee’s role is to advise the Fresh Produce Safety Centre Board on research priorities, to evaluate research proposals submitted to the Centre, and to provide the fresh produce industry in Australasia with practical, translatable research data that can be used at all levels throughout the supply chain.

“We are delighted to announce the seven members of the Fresh Produce Safety Centre’s Technical Committee today, as it progresses our mandate to promote fresh produce safety throughout New Zealand and Australia,” said Michael Worthington, Chairman of the Fresh Produce Safety Centre and CEO of the Produce Marketing Association Australia-New Zealand (PMA A-NZ).

Mr Joseph Ekman, from Fresh Produce Group, who is also a Director of the Fresh Produce Safety Centre, has been appointed by the Fresh Produce Safety Centre Board to be the Chairman of the Technical Committee.

“The Committee represents a cross-section of industry experience and scientists, and I look forward to working with the other Technical Committee members. Our focus will be identifying industry’s highest priority research questions and seeking evidence-based research to answer these questions, through the FPSC’s Requests For Proposals,” said Mr Ekman.

The role of the Fresh Produce Safety Centre is to enhance fresh produce safety across Australia and New Zealand through research, outreach and education.

The Fresh Produce Safety Centre’s supporters are:

Platinum supporters: Coles Supermarkets Australia Pty Ltd | PMA Australia-New Zealand Limited | University of Sydney | Woolworths Ltd

Silver supporters: Freshcare Limited | Harris Farm Markets Pty Ltd | Horticulture New Zealand | Perfection Fresh Australia Pty Ltd | Primo Moraitis Fresh Pty Limited

Bronze supporters: Australian Mango Industry Association (AMIA) | Chamber of Fruit & Vegetable Industries in Western Australia (Inc) | GS1 Australia Ltd | Kalfresh Pty Ltd | Living Foods NZ | MG Marketing Limited and LaManna Limited | Mulgowie Farming Company | OneHarvest Pty Ltd | Premier Fruits Group Pty Ltd | Sci Qual International Pty Ltd | TQA Australia

Establishment of the FPSC has been funded by a HAL project using voluntary contributions from industry and matched funds from the Australian Government. Horticulture Australia Logo

For further information please contact FPSC Executive Director Emma Walters on +61 02 8627 1058 / +61 419 204 454 or Chair Michael Worthington, CEO, PMA Australia-New Zealand, on +61 03 8844 5536.