The Board of Directors of the Fresh Produce Safety Centre Australia & New Zealand (FPSC) today announced the appointment of two new Directors, confirmed at its AGM held on 25 November 2020.

The Chairman of the FPSC, Mr. Michael Worthington, said: “From a strong field of applicants, we are delighted to welcome Dr. Andreas Klieber (Managing Director of Quality Associates) and Deon Mahoney (Head of Food Safety at PMA Australia-New Zealand) to the Board.  Their extensive experience and skillsets will fit in extremely well with the existing Board members as we continue FPSC’s important role in further enhancing food safety in the fresh produce sectors in Australia and New Zealand.”

Dr. Andreas Klieber

Deon Mahoney

The Board thanked the applicants for the two Board vacancies and the outgoing FPSC Directors, Darren Keating and Dr. Anthony Kachenko.

Mr. Keating was replaced by Mr. Mahoney as the director representing PMA and Dr. Kachenko retired by rotation and elected not to re-stand due to other commitments.

Chairman, Mr. Worthington, said: “We thank both Darren and Anthony for their significant contributions over recent years to the FPSC and their involvement in the reset of FPSC’s strategy in 2019.”

Further information about the Board of the FPSC A&NZ: