Skip to content

Posts tagged ‘Technical Committee’

Fresh Produce Safety Centre Announces Technical Committee

The Fresh Produce Safety Centre today announced the members of its newly-established Technical Committee. The Technical Committee’s role is to advise the Fresh Produce Safety Centre Board on research priorities, to evaluate research proposals submitted to the Centre, and to provide the fresh produce industry in Australasia with practical, translatable research data that can be used at all levels throughout the supply chain.

Read more

Report summarising the outcomes of 2012/13 of the FPS A&NZ

The FPS A&NZ have made available the final report summarising the outcomes from the project “A New Collaborative Paradigm for Fresh Produce Safety”. This project was funding by the University of Sydney and the Produce Marketing Association Australia and New Zealand (PMA A-NZ) with matched funding from the Australian Government, accessed through Horticulture Australia Limited.

You can download the report here and read about the outcomes of the many activities conducted in the year.

Third FPSANZ monthly newsletter out now!

The third edition of the Fresh Produce Safety Australia & New Zealand newsletter has just been released!

In this edition:

  • Introducing the FPS A&NZ Technical Committee
  • FPS A&NZ hosting Food Safety Hub at PMA Fresh Connections!
  • What happened at the Freshcare Workshop? Find out from the team.
  • “What’s new in Food Safety for you?” Presentation available.

…and more!

Click here to check out the newsletter.

Stay up to date with what’s happening in the Fresh Produce Safety community by signing up for the monthly newsletter.

Introducing the FPSANZ Technical Committee, 2013.

The FPS Technical Committee has been formed to collaborate with the Center for Produce Safety at UC Davis to review the research proposals submitted by the Australian research community.

The objective of the research is to provide the produce industry with practical, translatable research data that can be used at all levels throughout the supply chain and the FPS Technical Committee is well equipped to review the submissions.

The research proposals will address two major research priorities, which were identified at the industry Fresh Produce Safety Forum in November 2012: Compost, Soil Amendment Fertiliser Use, and Cultivation Practices; and Agricultural Water.

The 2013 FPS Technical Committee includes:

  • (Chair) Professor Les Copeland, Professor of Agriculture,Faculty of Agriculture and Environment University of Sydney (NSW)
  • Dr Andreas Klieber, Agriculture Policy Manager, Coles-Wesfarmers (Vic)
  • Dr David Miles, Senior Technical Officer, NSW Food Authority (NSW)
  • Mr Scott Ledger, Senior Horticulturist (Postharvest), Hort VC Group (Qld)
  • Mr Richard Bennett, Product Integrity Manager, Horticulture Australia Limited (HAL) (Vic)
  • Mrs Allison Clark, General Manager for Marketing, Houston’s Farm (Tas).

For more details on the Committee, please download their profiles.